2014 Scholarships

Thanks to a generous Wyoming Writers, Inc., member, a conference scholarship will be awarded to one student this year! 

In order to qualify, the WW, Inc., Board requests that you write a one-page summary detailing your life, career, and educational goals. Within this explanation, please detail how your attendance at the WW, Inc. Annual Conference will assist you in meeting these goals for your professional and/or personal life.

For the purposes of application for a reduced conference fee, the Wyoming Writers, Inc., Board defines “student” as an individual who is enrolled in ongoing coursework, with the intent of graduating with a degree or certificate. 

Send your Student Scholarship Application to:
Aaron Holst, Scholarship Chair

1508 Hillpond Drive, Sheridan, WY 82801,
or email him at scholarship@wyowriters.org.
If you email your application, please note "WW, Inc., Student Scholarship" in the subject line.  
DEADLINE: May 15, 2014.
Please note: Students may also apply for the Emmie Mygatt Memorial Scholarships as outlined below; note, however, the deadline of April 30, 2014 for that particular scholarship.
Emmie Mygatt Memorial Scholarships Applications 2014


The Memorial Scholarship Fund (MSF) doesn’t get much publicity, but it is very important to our organization. Scholarships from this fund are awarded each year to a few Wyoming writers, providing Wyoming Writers, Inc., conference tuition and one year’s WW, Inc., membership dues to writers with financial needs. Donations to the MSF can be made at any time by anyone. Most, but not all, donations are memorials. The principal of the MSF is never touched, thus it keeps giving and giving, much as the woman whose name it bears did during the course of her life.
The MSF began in 1977 with a donation of $500 from Emmie Mygatt, a published author who moved to Big Horn from the east coast in the late ‘60s. She taught a creative writing class at Sheridan College that was so popular the members continued meeting after the class ended. Emmie was leader of and advisor to this group which evolved into the Sheridan Range Writers. She envisioned a statewide writers’ organization and encouraged her group to start one, which they did in June 1974—Wyoming Writers, Inc.
Emmie was a kind, caring, lovely lady who believed writers could live anywhere. She helped others believe it as well, helped writers to learn their craft, and encouraged us all to help each other. In 1977, when she knew she was dying, Emmie gave the gift of $500 to be “joyously spent for an unusual opportunity approved by all.” With great foresight, and with Emmie’s blessing, the Board created the Emmie Mygatt Memorial Scholarship Fund. For clarity, the name was shortened in June 1994.
Each year the number and dollar amount of the scholarships changes depending on donations received and interest rates realized. Over 60 scholarships have been awarded in the years since 1978. These scholarships (and one award) have helped writers throughout Wyoming. Although WW, Inc., members receive first preference, non-members may also apply for a scholarship. If you or someone you know needs help attending this year’s conference, please encourage them to apply.
Letters of application may be sent to Scholarship Chair Aaron Holst at 1508 Hillpond Drive, Sheridan, WY 82801, or emailed to scholarship@wyowriters.org. If you email your letter, please note WW, Inc., Conference Scholarship in the subject line.
Postmark deadline is April 30, 2014.
Questions about scholarship opportunities? Contact Aaron at scholarship@wyowriters.org or 307-751-3043.

Document List

2014 Scholarship Application


Home  •  News  •  About Us  •  Contact Us