43rd Annual Conference a Success

2017 writing contest winners celebrated at the 43rd Annual Conference in Gillette

Left to right, Reatha Oakley (Gillette, WY), Mary Brodie (Pinedale, WY), Marsha Mittman (Spearfish, SD), Laurie Marr Wasmund (Parker, CO), Kathy Bjornestad (Sundance, WY), Pat Frolander (Sundance, WY), Steve Gardiner (Billings, WY), Marilyn Davidson (Buffalo, WY) and Betsy Bernfeld (Jackson, WY)

Wyoming Writers, Inc. attracted a large group to to its 43rd Annual Conference in Gillette, Wyoming, June 2-4. A total of 104 writers participated, most of them from Wyoming but also several each from Colorado, Montana, South Dakota, and Nebraska.

President Chris Ellsworth challenged the participants to use what they learned at the conference to help others. “Because somewhere back home is a good idea lost inside a person who can’t express it. Be a prompt. There’s a bright mind and a willing spirit waiting to be unleashed. Be the inspiration,” he said.

A horse trainer from Campbell County, Ellsworth said, “Maybe you know a ranch kid who needs to hear it’s okay to dream up a story and write it down. Tell him it’s fine sometimes to have a pen in your hand instead of a lass rope. Choose your words carefully, and share them. Because your words matter.” 

There are a couple of corrections to the July 2017 newsletter:
Marsha Mittman writes:
Though my name is correct when mentioned under photos, when the winning writers are listed (p. 8) I’m pegged as Marsha Pitman instead of Marsha Mittman.
Diane Panozzo writes:
I did win the Literary Arts Fellowship for my poetry in 2003 but did not win the Governor’s Arts Award in 2003 but I was nominated for that award.
Wyoming Writers, Inc. and the WYO-Writer regret the errors.