2016 Writing Contest Winners

Congratulations to all our contest winners!

Adult Fiction

Judge: Marsha Ward

Marsha Ward has published over 900 poems, stories, and articles. She writes authentic historical fiction about 19 C. America, and serves as the editor of newsletters for Poets and Writers. She is a member of Women Writing the West.

1st Place: Lori Micken, Livingston, MT for “Nightmare”

2nd Place: Laurie Marr Wasmund, Parker, CO for “The Well of Endless Loss”

3rd Place: Vickie Goodwin, Ariel, WA for “Karma”

Honorable mentions:
Elaine Anderson, Newcastle, WY for “The Sound of Winter Fiddling”
Fred Savage, Casper, WY for “Damned and Destined”

Children’s/Young Adult Fiction

Judge: Nancy Oswald

Nancy Oswald, a retired teacher, writes mostly young adult fiction and has won the Spur Award, the Willa Literary Award, twice the Evvy Award, the Colorado Book Award, and the Will Rogers Medallion.

1st Place: Cathy Ringler, Powell, WY for Miya’s Turn

2nd Place: Carolyn Dickinson, Scottsbluff, NE for Christmas Candle

3rd Place: Fred Savage, Casper, WY for Jacob the Terrible


Judge: Dawn Wink

Dawn Wink is a writer and interim Director of Teacher Education at Santa Fe Community College. She has won the Willa Award and was a finalist in High Plains Book Award, NM/AZ Book Awards.

1st Place: Nancy Bostick-Ebbert, Lander, WY for “The Song Killer”

2nd Place: Corinna German from Laurel, MT for “Death Song Just Outside Yellowstone”

3rd Place: Tory Taylor from Dubois, WY for “On the Trail of the Mountain Shoshone Sheep Eaters: A High Altitude Archaeological Odyssey

Honorable mention:
Edith Cook from Wheatland, WY

Free Verse

Judge: Matthew Mayo

Matthew Mayo received the Spur Award for the Best Western Novel and is a frequent finalist for the Spur and Peacemaker Awards (www.GrittyPress.com).

1st place: Laurie Marr Wasmund, Parker, CO, for “For You, On Our Tenth Anniversary, Oysters and Christ”

2nd place: Kathy Bjornstad, Sundance, WY for “She ages”

3rd place: Deborah Byrne, Riverton, WY for “Sunday Mangoes”

Honorable Mentions:
Laurie Marr Wasmund, Parker, CO for “Wildness”
Chris Valentine, Birney, MT for “The Gardener”
Tory Taylor, Dubois, WY for “Fall Chores Completed”

Traditional Poetry

Judge: Dianne Panozzo, Tie Siding, Wyoming

Rod Miller’s poems and short fiction have won Spur Awards from Western Writers of America and twice the best poetry book from Westerners International (writerRodMiller.com).

1st Place: Nick Sweet, Shepherd, TX for “Mae’s Café”

2nd Place: Echo Klaproth, Shoshoni, WY for “The View from Here”

3rd Place: Carol Dee Meeks, Tulsa, OK for “Watching Other Shoppers in Appalling Aisles”

Honorable Mentions:
Carol Dee Meeks, Tulsa, OK for “Elegant Eating”
Fred Savage, Casper, WY for “Happy Child”

First Place Winners Selected Biographical Information

Lori Micken, 1st Place in Adult Fiction, BA in General Science, MA in Zoology from the University of Montana, taught high school for 35 years.  She has written four books (see Amazon and Kindle).

Cathy Ringler, 1st Place in Children’s/Young Adult fiction, taught for 35 years and wrote stories for her students.  Her articles have appeared in: The Reading Teacher, The Real Hunter, Rocky Mountain Rider, and Girls, Guns and Rods.

Nancy Bostick-Ebbert, 1st Place in Nonfiction, submitted no biographical material.

Laurie Marr Wasmund, 1st Place in Free Verse Poetry, teaches at the college level, has published two novels, and attended the conference with the support of a grant from the Colorado Authors League.

Nick Sweet, 1st Place in Traditional Poetry, has been a free-lance stage director of over 135 plays and the Senior Poet Laureate of Oklahoma (2010) and Texas (2013).